Sunday, June 9, 2013

How we are losing

Hubs and I have started on a new journey over this past month.  About a month ago he went to the doctor with several issues and learned that he has high cholesterol and really bad gout.  His doctor prescribed a Mediterranean diet for him....basically fruits, veggies, little chicken, fish, whole grains.  I had already been attempting to eat healthier and exercise more so we just jumped right in and got serious about it. We have been asked time and again what we are doing so I am going to try and explain as best as I can.

We are following a modified Mediterranean diet.  We eat a lot of salads.  A LOT.  We are eating a ton of fruit and veggies.  We are also eating fish, turkey, and chicken only....NO red meat what so ever.  We only eat whole grains, couscous, quinoa, etc.  We drink a ton of water and NO soda...that was hard for me. I had cut down to one or so a day but I've now decided to give it up completely.  No sweets.
A typical day:
Breakfast: Greek Yogurt & banana OR a green smoothie made with spinach/fruit OR egg white/whole wheat muffin
Lunch: a big salad with grilled chicken or tuna, fruit, almonds & vinaigrette
Dinner: Grilled chicken or fish, steamed veggies, couscous or quinoa, etc.
Snacks: piece of fruit or hummus/carrots or yogurt

I try to eat 1200 calories or less each day.

I joined 10 Fitness about a month ago.  My intention was to use it mainly so I could go to Zumba classes.  However, I have been using it way more than that.  In the past 10 days, I have gone everyday except one.  During the school year I went after work when Hubs got home and went to Zumba class.  Now that's it's summer, I am going in the mornings right after I drop Essie off at school.  The days she stays home with me I go to Zumba at night.

On non-Zumba days, I try to do at least 30-45 minutes of cardio exercises when I first get to the gym.  I was doing the treadmill mainly but started having trouble with my shins/hip so I've moved onto the Elliptical.  I get 30-35 mins on that  then I go to either the treadmill, bike, or stairmaster for another 10-15 mins.  Then I rotate through a variety of weight machines for about 30 minutes.  And that's about it.

Hubs comes to the gym with me when Essie is not at home.  Our gym is working on a childcare room so we are going to be able to go together more often.  Most days now, however, he walks/runs a couple miles around the neighborhood.  Sometimes I will join him & Essie on walks at night too.

I love the "My Fitness Pal" app that I use to track my food intake, exercise, and weight loss.  I love that it keeps up with my calories burned and consumed, etc.  Hubs used an app called "RunKeeper" to track his runs/walks.

So basically that it is.  Together we have lost over 30 pounds in 3 weeks.  I don't put too much emphasis on the number on the scale, however because I can tell a huge difference in other ways.  For example, my body has changed significantly.  My clothes are looser and I've gone down a size already.  At first I was not able to make it through a whole Zumba class without stopping often...I can do the whole class now.  I was not able to do the jumps, etc and I am now jumping during class.  I was barely able to puff out a mile and now I am doing 3.  I have a ton more energy and feel so much better.  I plan my day around workouts now instead of fitting those in when I can.  I feel really good about the journey we are on.  I cannot wait to see how we feel/look in the upcoming months!

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails